Angel

“I saw the angel in the marble and carved until I set him free.” 

Michelangelo

______________________________________

I had this piece of wood.  I knew i wanted to paint a picture on it. it took me about two years to figure out just what i wanted to paint on it…

It was the best part of the morning, when the sun starts beaming warmth into my studio.  It was a Saturday, my favorite day.  I grabbed the piece of wood, sanded it for a while, and made a decision.  There i was, with all my best shades of purple, red, orange, and blue, ready to paint some random abstract sketch i found in one of my art journals…

And then i saw her out of the corner of my eye, right in the swirls of wood.  she was twirling around and around, her hair flowing, wearing the prettiest skirt.  i honestly couldn’t believe what i was seeing.  i looked away for a minute, but when i looked again she was still there.  i left the room to get some water, came back, and there she still was, kind of sad, twirling and twirling.  at that moment, i knew the abstract “whatever” could wait.  I quickly traced her silhouette with my graphite, before she could vanish.  then i just started painting.   When she emerged, I was her.  She was me… the dancer inside me.  She was so lovely and happy to be dancing, and a much better dancer than i ever was.  But there was some sadness in her eyes.   i named her Daisy.

i have danced on and off my whole life.  Ballet, tap, jazz, modern… In my late twenties i thought i was done for good.  I stopped altogether, and it went on that way for a few years, but i always felt the void.  In my 30’s i discovered belly dance, and thought i would be doing it until i was 80.  For many reasons in 2009, i stopped belly dancing and life went on with all its usual ups and downs…  just no dancing.  I was surely never going to dance again.  i was tired, my bones were creaky, i couldn’t even do a grand plie without groaning.

It seems Daisy came into my life just in time.  She reminded me how good it feels to dance…and that i was not yet finished dancing.  I realized that i don’t need to go to classes, or perform with a troupe, in order to continue to be a dancer.  i could dance right there at home, in my little orange studio, and i could do it my way.  Each plie, at my own pace.  Every hip shimmy, as gentle or as intense as i chose.   I could do ballet, belly dance, even yoga and aerobics, whatever the music made me feel like doing.  it would heal my body.  it would heal my spirit.  and i might even wear a bikini again!

Well, I didn’t wear any bikinis this summer, almost two years later, but to this day I dance and do yoga with Daisy.  My body is finally starting to feel stronger and the movement finally feels good again.  I intend to be dancing with her until i am 80, or more.   Daisy has been hanging on the wall there now since the first day i found her, another unfinished painting, another project procrastinated.  Someday I will take her down off the wall, and give her the attention she needs and deserves.  But it doesn’t really matter when, or if, i finish her.  What matters is that she was there, just when i needed her.  And now she is free.  Still a little sad sometimes, but free.

e.j.l. xo

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

p.s. before the comment is posted… i am of course aware that my Daisy is not even in the same universe as Michelangelo’s angels.  I just liked the quote. (-:

Have you ever seen an “angel in the marble”?  Did it effect your life in some way?

13 thoughts on “Angel

    • Wow… i can’t believe how quickly the internet works… i just posted like 30 seconds ago. (-: Anyway, thank you so much! I just stumbled upon quote for the first time too, about a day after i started writing about Daisy. weird. Hope your having a nice day. Can’t wait to check out wordsfallfrommyeyes!

  1. This is a beautiful post. Very inspiring. It makes me wish I was a dancer!

    Keep on doing what you love, and please blog about it so we can all read about it! 🙂

  2. Hi Daisy!
    Thanks for visiting my Tribal Stones Jewellery blog!
    Such a timely visit….. I too love to dance, although not professionally, and have been going thru life’s experiences with health & just ‘not dancing’. So I really related to your beautiful experience and it has inspired me to also ‘Dance like no one is watching’ ~ because they won’t be ~ I will again prance onto my stage in my living room. As Annie Lenox said: “A legend in my own living room”. I have spent about a year in the late nineties in Portland dancing NIA with Debbie & Carlos Rosas, & that was one of the best times of my life! N I A is like dancing with your Angels & your Spirit takes flight and Joy is a constant healing visitor. I taught some when I returned to Canada but now I continue to explore my NIA in my own space….. I had forgotten. Thank you for reminding me! Dancing saves my Soul and frees the Authentic Me….. so I shall begin again. Inspiration flows and life blooms, whether it’s the high, the low or the neutral…. life is full. So, I will be sure to check out your blog often, keep dancing and seeing the Angels in the Marble! Blessings of Beauty, Lucy ~ Tribal Stones Jewellery.

    • Hi Lucy, thank you for visiting me as well. I’ve been inspired by so many bloggers, and it is so nice to know i could inspire someone also. I have never tried the NIA, but i always thought i would enjoy it. I hope you will find much joy in dance for many years to come. hope to see you again!

  3. Hi Daisy!
    Thanks for visiting my Tribal Stones Jewellery blog!
    Such a timely visit….. I too love to dance, although not professionally, and have been going thru life’s experiences with health & just ‘not dancing’. So I really related to your beautiful experience and it has inspired me to also ‘Dance like no one is watching’ ~ because they won’t be ~ I will again prance onto my stage in my living room. As Annie Lenox said: “A legend in my own living room”. I have spent about a year in the late nineties in Portland dancing NIA with Debbie & Carlos Rosas, & that was one of the best times of my life! N I A is like dancing with your Angels & your Spirit takes flight and Joy is a constant healing visitor. I taught some when I returned to Canada but now I continue to explore my NIA in my own space….. I had forgotten. Thank you for reminding me! Dancing saves my Soul and frees the Authentic Me….. so I shall begin again. Inspiration flows and life blooms, whether it’s the high, the low or the neutral…. life is full. So, I will be sure to check out your blog often, keep dancing and seeing the Angels in the Marble! Blessings of Beauty, Lucy ~ Tribal Stones Jewellery.

  4. I love this post! The quote, the photographs of your lovely dancing Daisy and your sun filled studio! And then there is your story ~ inspiring ~ very much so. I always loved to dance but stopped somewhere along the way. I will think of you and Daisy the next time I let loose and break into dance ~ which will be soon, I hope. junemoon

  5. I have long thought about that quote since the first time that I saw it in the “David museum” in Florence, Italy in 1988. There are a few blocks of marble on display where you can see that The Master was chipping away and decided that the angel just “wasn’t there”. These unfinished masterpieces were a thing in and of themselves. Some of them were so far along that it was more than just a bit disconcerting that he just “wasn’t feeling it” and walked away. Facial features were distinct, legs and shoulders were busting through, with little chisel patterns swirling on the flesh. And he just dropped his tools and said, “Not so much”, but in a sexy Italian accent. I wonder if there just might be a lesson in that for me. It is a difficult task for me to decide when my in will never jive with my out. I guess Kenny Rogers said it best, “You got to know when to hold ’em, know when to fold ’em, know when to walk away and know when to run”. Shit. Did I just quote Kenny in public?

    You just know when you know.

Leave a Reply

