My heart in full color

I often wonder what it must be like to not love art… to not love creating.  I can’t even imagine it.  People seem to think i am part yoga hippie,part crazy cat lady, and part health nut.  I have no idea why people think I’m a health nut. I had a raspberry danish, two cups of coffee, a glass of root beer, and a large handful of m&ms today.  The other descriptions are pretty accurate i would say.  A day of fun for me would be a few hours at the flea market, another few hours painting in my studio, and another hour or two doing yoga and belly dance.

I was thrilled to spend a few hours in my studio this weekend.  As I worked on a couple of paintings, I found myself asking,  “Why do I love art so much?  Why do i long to spend all the hours of daylight in my studio, sketching, gluing, painting…

I haven’t figured out exactly how to answer that question.  But i decided (for once) I would not judge every stroke, and second guess every color choice, and worry if my paintings would be good enough, or if they would have anything worthwhile to say… I would instead simply enjoy each stroke, and notice the juxtaposition of colors and shapes.  I would just get lost in my paint and let my brushes speak what is in my heart.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

These are some close-ups of the series i’m working on for my living room.  I love the way paint and canvas unite to make the most interesting patterns and textures from the close-up perspective.  More to come i hope.  Happy Monday!

e.j.l. xo

10 thoughts on “My heart in full color

  1. I love this entry. I feel so much the same way about art. I really like your paintings too. 🙂 I personally don’t know where I would be without art being a major thing in my life.

    • Thank you so much! I finally had some time during the daylight to work on more of these paintings yesterday. It is an amazing feeling to have nowhere to be for one day and just lose yourself in a painting. hoping to do an hour or so today while it is sunny. (-:

  2. it’s funny how when we simply get lost in creating and don’t worry about whether or not what we’re creating is ‘perfect’ we produce some of our best.
    absolutely gorgeous work. it gave me goosbumps to look at it. keep creating!

Leave a Reply

