From Daydream to The Bohemian Zen Love Den… Spicy!

Artwork – Daydream – by Henri Matisse

every day from about 8am to 5pm, i sit in my cubicle, type on a computer, and daydream.  i somehow manage to do my job quite efficiently, and with an outwardly sincere enthusiasm, but i have to confess my sin… Most of the day, while i am typing… I am daydreaming.  seriously daydreaming.  this morning i clearly recall doing yoga in the grass, and flea market hopping with one of my besties. Just before lunch, i think i was driving from Austin to Denver with my husband and a sick camera, listening to happy road trip songs, eating Twizzlers.  It doesn’t really help the day go by, but it beats focusing on reality.

And many days, likely to the dismay of my boss if she ever read this (God forbid), i dream about designing a home for my family from top to bottom.  i can design a whole room before lunchtime.  I could never do a fancy drawing of it, but in my head i am a sought after, free lance designer with a team of hot HGTV carpenters and design experts on hand.  Whenever I really need to escape… i am sharing notes with my beloved Design Stars, David Bromstad and Antonio Ballatore – sharing a morning coffee, planning out a project together with our colored pencils and Chewie.

So, occasionally i succeed in bringing one of my daydreams to life.  Or at least the best i can, minus loads of talent and money.  My recent obsession has been creating a new bedroom.  I have imagined every corner transforming… the room becoming a colorful, tranquil retreat.  The plan was to make a space – the space that we begin and end each day with – that would rejuvenate our spirits and remove some of the stagnant energy from our home.  I have spent hours dreaming, between phone calls, “TPS” reports, and meetings, thinking about this room… and a beautiful chair that my husband surprised me with one day.  I imagined how i could surround it with the room it so deserved.

image - Office Space

And so the love den was born.

This is the room as i have done my best with over the years… Cozy Chaotic I think i would call it.  I loved the bed…  but was a dust collector, and it just needed to go.  And the purple… what a hot mess.  What was i ever thinking?  (My husband wonders this also). This would be the purple room challenge.

The over hall was challenging.  Basically we de-popcorned the ceiling, replaced the carpet, replaced the molding, and painted every surface.  We did it all ourselves, except for the carpet installation.  We had a surprising amount of fun… there were long, long hours on the weekends, late nights after work… an experience that i am so glad is over, but will always cherish.  It looked a little something like this as we began the process…

We finally put in the carpet and moved back in a few weeks ago.  Somehow we are still together… in fact, i think we like each other even more.

There is no new bed yet, and I am still painting furniture… but little by little we add the details, color and art.  It already feels like a new world.  I could curl up and read in in there for hours.  The morning sunlight feels whimsical and warm.  I laid on our “new” bed for the first time and thought, bohemian zen.

I tucked a secret letter under the new carpeting, for the future owners of our home to find (along with some pretty decent hard wood floors)… maybe in a hundred years or more.

Our spicy new bedroom is no Fifty Shades or Grey, but it is two or three very lovely shades, and I am optimistic that it won’t hurt the love life.  Besides, i don’t think I’m quite that adventurous.

The chair’s special corner is not complete, but here is a peak at its fabric and the view from it’s cozy new spot where i will read books, sketch nudes, and sip tea.

Stop in later for the big reveal.

Until then, I hope i have you thinking about giving your own bedroom some love…and a little spice!

What is your design style?  If you like the grey walls… find some other ideas here.

skyblue. xo

p.s. David is hosting Design Star Tuesdays 9/8c…they certainly don’t need my advertisement, but it’s looking to be a great season…  White room challenge is up next!

23 thoughts on “From Daydream to The Bohemian Zen Love Den… Spicy!

  1. Pingback: Make a Room – Make it Home | Re-Do it Design

  2. Pingback: Design Star – A Blank Canvas | Re-Do it Design

  3. I do a lot of daydreaming at work also. I have a little pocket calender that I write down all kinds of notes. Since it is so obviously a calender, if someone comes by, I look like I am jotting an appointment down in my day book, but it may just as likely be a few words for a poem or quick sketch for a quilt. I actually like my day job, but if I could sew and blog all day…sigh.

  4. aloha SkyBlue – you touch on many interesting things in this post. daydreaming is more important to the day – and night – than we can (almost) ever imagine (imo). just as night dreaming is way more important to life in the same way (also imo).

    what you brought up for me that made me smile in your post however is centered the carpet note you left. i like that you did that. here’s why it made me smile:

    when i was a kid i had a room where the door to the room and the closet door in the room were back to back. the doorknobs would clink if you opened either door all the way, or both doors far enough. one day i made a discovery by accident. both doors were open about half way so they met near the middle of each opening space. the doorknobs had a circular copper plate in the center of them with a slightly raised edge. these plates just snapped into the doorknob. they were not meant to be pried out – however when the two doors lined up in the right place those two plate edges were edge to edge and the doors stuck – neither would close because the other door alignment held each one back. prying them apart popped one of the plates out – the closet door plate (altho i learned how to pop the other one out later too). what was in there? space. just the empty doorknob space. cool, i thought. and i began to leave messages in those spaces every so often. eventually i wrote a day note of my life – my day that day on an 8.5 x 11 sheet of paper. folded it up. and left it in one of the knobs. i figured someday someone besides me would live there and it would be there for them to find. i left another note – a companion note in the other doorknob. this hidden doorknob space often leads me to a variety of ideas in my own (mostly art) work (including hidden objects in ceramic spheres – another story). it also makes for a fine departure point to daydream upon – thinking about who and how those messages might one day be found and explored. fun. aloha.

    • Aloha Rick, I love your story! So sweet of you to share. I think whoever found, or finds, your treasures would be in for a real treat!! although i love this house, and don’t want to go anywhere soon… i love thinking about the people who might live here someday (hopefully) in 50, 75, 100 years. maybe my house won’t make it that long, but you never know. it’s fun to dream about. it’s also fun to know maybe someday one of them will find a piece of me, there… in the future. Keep having fun with your hidden objects! Aloha!

      • cool and mahalo (thank you) Sky Blue. i suspect we think along similar lines in this regard. that idea and thought-dreaming about what may happen 50-75-100-1,000 years from now that might also be a connection to our own being and life. yeah. fun.

        that is the same thinking that got me interested in archeology. the idea that a human hand touched this xyz object or place a century ago, a thousand years ago 30,000 years ago… yeah. wow.

        that day-thought-dreaming is also connected to my fun with Mail Art. i’m not as active in that area as i was a few years ago but it still appeals to me. objects and things (of art) in the mail box. that thought makes going to get your mail a fun thing to dream on. it works at the other end too – thinking about someone opening what you’ve sent to their snail-mail box… bwahahahaha – fun. fun. aloha.

  5. Pingback: Make a Room – Make it Home | Redo it Design

  6. Skyblue, First, thank you for liking my blog post. Second, I LOVE LOVE LOVE David Bromstead and the entire Design Star series. I loved reading your ideas and inspirations. We are without satellite at the moment, so I will have to make do with your posts about the newest series.
    Cheers.

    • Hello Phoenix! I shamefully am only up to episode 3 and i think the season ended in July! Luckily I DVR’d the season so, hopefully soon i will snuggle up to enjoy it soon… if we weren’t across the country i’d invite you for tea and a Design Star marathon. (-: Thank you so much for your kind words, and for sharing your knowledge at AZ Media Maven. I am a social media nightmare… but i finally reached 30 followers on Pinterest! Ciao

      • 30 followers is good! I will find you and follow you there, too. I could spend hours on Pinterest if I had hours to spend. I am a big fan of tea – never drink coffee. So perhaps a virtual tea party? I partial to chai.
        Cheers.

    • I haven’t done any writing lately, partly because i feel like i have nothing interesting to say. I’m glad some of my older posts still reach people! Your blog is beautiful… i sailed as a child with my grandfather on a 38ft Morgan called Intermission. Thank you for bringing me back to those lovely memories. Happy travels to you!

  7. I Love it! My favorite part of all though beyond any decorations… leaving a letter below the carpet – its all about the little things in life. Great job!

    • Thanks so much Devyn 🙂 it will be great if someone finds it one day down the road, but either way i love knowing it’s there! Thanks for visiting my blog…i haven’t been writing for a while but i hope to be feeling it again soon!!

  8. Such a beautiful post. Bohemian Zen… love that! What makes this even more amazing is your ability to paint such a detailed picture in my mind’s eye while you tell your bedroom remodel love story. I am honored you will be adding my art to your walls and hope it gives you many hours of enjoyment!

    • Wow Joann, that is so nice… that i could help create a picture in someone’s mind with words and little photos… inspiring! Again, i just can’t wait to see her. Like Christmas, but way better! 🙂

  9. Pingback: The Top Ten Reasons Skyblue loves ~ SHE HAS TROUBLE WITH NUMBERS ~ by Joann Loftus | sky blue with daisies

Leave a Reply

