Hot Air and Meatballs

If you were hoping for meatballs, i apologize for the false advertising.  There are no meatballs here.  I just didn’t know what to call my post, and I’m hungry… so meatballs came to mind.

But I hope you will stick around because I have plenty of hot air.  Just some photos taken a few weekends ago at a local festival.

I can’t believe I have lived in Connecticut all my life, and never knew the festival existed or that they had these early morning launches once a year… but a friend at work mentioned it.  Often on my lunch hour, I go walking at Norton Park down the street from our office. The event takes place at this park.  The park is nice enough… I really enjoy my walks there.  But that morning it was transformed into one of the most amazing places I have ever been.

I rolled out of bed at 5am on a Sunday (which would typically be unheard of for my lazy ass) and decided I was not missing my opportunity to witness the annual balloon launch. My husband opened one eye wondering where the hell I was going at this hour, and begrudgingly, but surprisingly offered to join me.  (I hadn’t really invited him since, not in a million years, did i think he would get up that early to go with me.)  It was still dark as I rushed him out of the house, my heart racing that I would miss the launch… but we got there and hadn’t missed a thing.  One by one, two by two, they came to life… and floated away.

There are really no words I can write to share with you how amazing that morning was.  I felt like I was in a cartoon.  My pictures might explain it a little better… and yes, that little white dot is the moon.  But you have to see it with your own eyes to really get it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It was so worth getting out of bed.

xo skyblue

IMG_3327

Tree at Norton Park

Please learn more about the festival here!  I think you can even sign up for ride!!

3 thoughts on “Hot Air and Meatballs

Leave a Reply

