Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing | Believe

If you have been a regular reader you might be able to guess my dream job. Many might not call it a job…being a full time artist.  But there are indeed many people out there that do call it a job.  Because it is.  And work hard they do. Especially so, when the money is depended on for health insurance, food and shelter.  Art doesn’t often come with a weekly predetermined pay-check. Some artists of course have the wonderful fortune of someone supporting their basic needs while they get started and build their work space and body of work.  Art of any kine, can be very time consuming work… so time is certainly helpful.

However many, many more artists (as today’s WP challenge suggests) are in the position of needing to maintain a full time job (or two), and a great percentage of those are also caring for children, elderly parents… the challenges can be endless.  It may be a little more difficult, and take much longer… but I am a believer that it is still possible to become a Professional Artist, making a living partly or solely with their art. I didn’t always believe that… i didn’t have any idea that was possible.  But while not easy, I do know it is certainly possible.

In whichever form the art comes (musical, visual, literary…) the artist is also likely to be a very visual person (or hyper-sensitive in one or more of there 5 senses).  In other words… the environment and all it’s elements can play a huge part in your work and how it flows out of you.  Again, many artists have an ideal environment to blossom as an artist… while others learn to adapt and put stuff out there no matter what their surroundings might be like.  I have a very good fortune of a modest space in my home to devote to my creative habits.

At this moment I make art purely because it’s my passion… was since a very small girl… I just veered off that road when it was time to become a “responsible” adult.  And not having been able to have children, it is my therapy and somewhat fills the spaces in my heart that i had intended for motherly purposes most of my life.  (If that makes any sense).  So sure, it is painful that I am not a mom and/or full time artist, and I definitely have challenges with maintaining the energy to give what I feel is necessary create in the capacity i wish to.  However as I mature a little, and see how delicate and short life is…  it’s more important to focus on which part of that i can participate in.  So I do art, and feed my creativity whenever I can, in whatever way i can.  The more I embrace that concept.. the more I feel I am coming closer to the fulfillment I long for.  I will always have days that I just can’t deal with the thought of not being a mom… but more often now, I can embrace the fact that I don’t have kids, which means I have no excuse not to find time for some art.  Even if it can’t be every day.

I love to write as well.  Also a big time sucker.  So you might see spurts of blog posts and spatters of art, and then nothing for a while.  But hopefully you will always continue to see it, at least now and again.  Because if you don’t, I either gave up… or I’m part of a piece of pottery on somebody’s mantle.  And an artist, deep down, always hopes someone might like them… before that happens.  🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Is there anything in your life that you may have put aside for a while… but that you would love to get back to… and dream of even doing full time someday?

See more thoughts on this prompt, and share yours, at The Daily Post.

xo skyblue

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing | Believe

  1. I am or was fortunate enough to choose a career I was passionate about, and was paid. Then I decided to venture I to another passion, becoming a business owner. It’s always awesome to read about others that followed their hearts as well.

    • Hi Lana! First, thank you for visiting! I’m in and out of my blog… partly because i get lazy, and partly because i don’t always have a computer. So anyway, sorry for the delayed response, and so glad we crossed paths. You’ve drawn me in already, and can’t wait to read more of your story. You’re an inspiration, and i’m so ready to be inspired. 🙂 i’m slightly obsessed with reading stories of entrepeneurs, writers, etc. It’s better than coffee! And it’s the boost i need sometimes to keep on truckin. Cheers to you Lana, Hope we will meet again!

Leave a Reply

