Ode to Orange… and a Father’s Day Wish

Ode to Orange

Some would argue the best color in town is red, or blue, or green.

Others might say its yellow, pink, or purple… or in between.

But as a self-proclaimed color whisperer, i dare place one color above them all.

Orange, you have won my heart.  When I’m with you, I have a ball!

You are the color of my favorite soda, my favorite scarf, my favorite room.

You’re always warm and cozy, and in the fall you glaze the moon.

You are the color of Hostess cupcakes with that delicate white filling.

When red is too tired, and blue is too blue, you are always willing.

You are the color of so many of the delicious foods we chew.

Carrots, peppers, pumpkins, and Cheetos… just to name a few.

You are gentle when you need to be, always energetic and brave.

You are the color of the sun that brings us each new day.

You feed us, protect us, sooth our soul…   depending on your hue.

Flowers, butterflies, basketballs, and that fruit they named after you.

You’re a fashion diva, a style icon… all the bloggers say so.

You are right at home with any other color of the rainbow.

The love child of red and yellow.  They made magic…  and you were born.

And who could forget, that you are roughly one third of candy corn.

There are some that think you’re crazy, too bold and much too loud.

But there isn’t another color out there that makes me feel more proud.

So now you know my secret, I love you, Orange hue.

Orange you super glad I wrote this little ode to you.

***

***

Mini Ode to My Dad

There’s this guy they call Captain Orange… and everybody knows

that he and Orange go way, way back.  He and Orange are bros.

Captain Orange is my hero, my rock, my heart, my home.

He is the reason that I have been blessed with life.  So no matter where I roam.

He is always there to save the day, even if we are miles apart.

I hear his voice, he holds my hand, he encourages my art.

He’ll say say he didn’t do enough…  he’s a humble, hard-working guy.

But truth be told, he’s the one who taught me how to survive.

I see my dad in every orange sunset, flower or mushroom.

Past the sky… Happy Father’s Day, Dad.  As long as I have Orange, I have you.

xo skyblue

HAPPY FATHER’S DAY, TO ALL THE DAD’S!

3 thoughts on “Ode to Orange… and a Father’s Day Wish

  1. Pingback: City of Yellow | rubys polaroid

    • wow, lovely post about Yellow… and thank you SO MUCH for linking and mentioning my poem about Orange. 🙂 You made my day with your kind words… We are worlds away, but you have touched my heart as if you were right here next to me. cheers!

  2. Pingback: Poste Qui M’a Inspiré | rubys polaroid

Leave a Reply

