Folk Art – Zen Girl under Rainbow Sky

Painting allows me to visit places and moments I have experienced in the past, and/or hope I can visit someday in the future.  Either way, it allows me to visit right now, in the present moment.  I’m visiting while I sketch it out, while I lay the paint down, every time I look at it afterwards.   I create my paintings in hopes that maybe someone else will look at it, and feel that way too.

While the subjects of my paintings are mostly women and girls – I refer to them all as “girls”… in my whimsical world, we are always youthful inside.  Here is a girl (woman) I just finished for an auction fundraiser.  She is a girl who is feeling off balance… she is a little bit frazzled but devoted to her family, work and/or passions – so she tries to do it all, and do it well.  She sees so much beauty in the world around her, but the chaos out there scares her. She needs to escape from all of that periodically, and find her center.

Her three buns are a representation of the little stacks of rocks you sometimes see balanced in advertisements for massage therapy and yoga.   I have casually practiced rock balancing for years now, in a therapeutic, meditative capacity. I could go on for hours with this metaphor, but in simple terms I see the process as an intimate conversation with nature, and a dance with gravity… which can help us redefine what is possible. Her stack of buns is her power to stand strong despite any chaos in her life.

Here she is, under a rainbow sky.

Zen Girl Print Copy 1 Maybe you’d like her in your home or yoga studio? Prints, pillows and other items will be available and 100% proceeds during October 2014 will be donated to breast health initiatives in Bristol, CT.  Check back or visit the Skyblue Facebook page for information as it becomes available.

xo skyblue

2 thoughts on “Folk Art – Zen Girl under Rainbow Sky

Leave a Reply

