Hashtag #MiVida #SelfieTime – Life Imitates Art

Weekly Photo Challenge: #LifeImitatesArt

I grew up before there was such a thing as a selfie.  But today, it’s a part of every day of our life.  Whether it is because we need validation in the form of likes and shares, or we simply want to capture a memory for friends or families, ourselves… it is a lovely medium that draws me in for whatever reason.  They come to us in the form of friends, family, strangers, celebrities… they are candid or staged, sometimes both.  I am not an art scholar.  But I believe they are a form of portraiture… however flat, sexy, creative, narcissistic, innocent,, annoying, ugly, pretty… I will be hated and booed for my opinion but i stand by it… in my eyes, these selfies are art.

So many questions form in my head when i see a selfie.  I have questions on everything from how they got those facial features to what they had for breakfast.  Selfies inspire a lot of my art.  Some of my faces are free form from a vision, others are loosely inspired by an photo i see. Then as the piece comes to life… i have even more questions.  How is that not art?

See also: Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie| Don’t Hate my Duck Face

image

In a portrait, you have room to have a point of view. The image may not be literally what’s going on, but it’s representative.

                                                                            ~  Annie Leibovitz

xo, skyblue

 

One thought on “Hashtag #MiVida #SelfieTime – Life Imitates Art

  1. Pingback: Life Imitates Art (Remake 2) | Chris Breebaart Photography / What's (in) the picture?

Leave a Reply

