Plain Super – A Superhero Story

You’re much stronger than you think you are.  Trust me.  ~ Superman

                                                     ***

This is a sketch I did a while ago, when i decided i wanted to do a series of “girly” superheros.  I often use the word “girly” to describe my art, design and fashion aesthetic.  The word “girly” can mean so many things… but it is often perceived as describing someone who is the opposite of strong, courageous, tough… and i think nothing could be farther from the truth.  It can also have negative connotations when using the word to unaffectionately describe a male who behaves or dresses more “female”.  This is unfortunate.  Whether you are male, female, or anywhere in between – “girly” can be used against you as one of those shaming words.  Bummer.

img_6965Someone might say to me, “…Well Girly is a horrible word to use, because that is non-inclusive and doesn’t consider males who love pink, or wear glitter, or who paint daisies on everything.”  I’ve thought about this. a lot.  …because I actually think it is tragic that we as a human race have developed such hard and harsh gender rules for people.  It’s shameful we have created a world where we inflict shame on others that don’t fit in those “rules”…  where to be on the outside who you are inside is taboo, and simply dangerous.

That being said, I believe the word “girly” will and should live on.  For centuries there have been certain aesthetic themes that have been more commonly demonstrated by males or females.  This is across continents and cultures, and while it may be considered a “man-made” or regrettable societal outcome – i believe there must be some biological component as well.  I have always felt drawn to very feminine, colorful, flowery, flowing, glittery, pink&purple-y things.  I have no idea if it’s because of society, or because i have a vagina.  Hopefully someday it will be the right of everybody to enjoy those things if they want to… Vagina, or no vagina.  I dream of a world in which all genders can proudly flaunt their “girly” achievements, creations, and outfits.  Girly may be your greatest superpower!

Back to my “girly” superhero sketches.  The “girly” imagery is fun and unexpected when juxtaposed with traditional superhero outfits.  My drawings aren’t typically meant to be anything political or social-awareness-y… they are just for fun and love.  I love to make “girly” girls, i love superheros, and i was having fun with that. Hopefully I’ll share more superheros soon, but I’m currently on a mermaid kick.  🙂

p.s. You  are my superhero.  You who have felt different, awkward, uncomfortable in our skin… and who fell in love with every inch of yourself as you are… while always loving others (including animals) even more.  You, are just plain super.

see more superheros here!  I haven’t written much lately.  I’m trying to post week, maybe every day, but unfortunately I’m always slipping.  Thank you for the challenge and inspiration WordPress 🙂

xo skyblue

img_6961p.s.  If you are a cosplayer and want to make yourself into one of my superheros… feel free… first i’d fa-rEEEEK OUT!  and then i’d send you a Fa-rEEEEE print!  🙂

Leave a Reply

